clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona squad named for Round 7 of La Liga

New, comments

Luis Enrique has selected the usual 18 players to form the squad for the match against Rayo Vallecano.

David Ramos

No surprises on Saturday morning, as coach Luis Enrique has announced the 18-player squad for the next Barcelona Liga game, against Rayo Vallecano.

It's the usual selection by Lucho, with B-teamers Munir and Sandro once again cracking the list. Despite being fit, Thomas Vermaelen, Rafinha Alcântara and Jordi Masip have been left out of the squad, per Enrique's decision. They are not in match shape yet, so the coach decided to give them more time. Martín Montoya is once again being snubbed by the coach, and things look uglier and uglier for the right-back. Another right-back left out is Douglas Pereria, who has not had a chance to play since his underwhelming debut against Málaga.

The other absentee is Luis Suárez, who's still suspended. The full squad list is this:

1. Stegen, 13. Claudio Bravo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Xavi, 7. Pedro, 8. Iniesta, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Neymar, 14. Mascherano, 15. Bartra, 18. Jordi Alba, 21. Adriano, 22. Dani Alves, 24. Jérémy Mathieu, 29. Sandro, 31. Munir.

Expected Starting XI (4-3-3):

Bravo; Alves, Piqué, Bartra, Alba; Busquets, Rakitic, Iniesta; Munir, Messi, Neymar.

The match starts at 18:00 CET / 17:00 BST / 12:00 EST / 22:30 IST, and you can follow the action right here, at Barça Blaugranes. Visca el Barça!