clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

UEFA Champions League Draw: Preview, How to Watch Online

New, comments
Harold Cunningham/Getty Images

It's Champions League Draw day! Barcelona will know the three opponents of the group stage today, with a draw being held in Monaco.

As the tournament holders, the Blaugrana are in Pot 1, alongside winners from the other top 8 associations in UEFA, which is the one major change in the draw format. That means some very strong sides are in Pots 2 and 3, and that could mean a very difficult group for the Treble winners.

Here's how each pot lines up:

Pot 1: Barcelona, Bayern Munich, Chelsea, Benfica, Paris Saint-Germain, Juventus, Zenit St. Petersburg, PSV

Pot 2: Real Madrid, Atlético Madrid, FC Porto, Arsenal, Manchester United, Valencia, Manchester City, Bayer Leverkusen

Pot 3: Shakhtar Donetsk, Sevilla, Olympique Lyonnais, Dynamo Kiev, Olympiacos Piraeus, CSKA Moscow, Galatasaray, AS Roma

Pot 4: BATE Borisov, Borussia M'gladbach, Wolfsburg, Dinamo Zagreb, Maccabi Tel-Aviv, KAA Gent, Malmo FF, Lokomotiv Astana

Since the Spanish teams can't face each other in the group stage, Barça are almost guaranteed to face one of the English giants. There's no easy opponent in Pot 3 either, and one of the German sides from Pot 4 could also be in the Blaugranes' way.

A dream scenario would be: Barcelona, Porto, Galatasaray, Astana

The worst-case group: Barcelona, Manchester City, Lyon, Wolfsburg

Here's all the info to watch:

Date/Time: Thursday, August 27th, 2015, 5:45pm local time, 11:45am ET, 8:45am PT 4:45pm BST

TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA), BT Sport (UK), Ten Action (India)

Online: UEFA.com