clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for Champions League match against Manchester City

Luis Enrique has chosen 18 players for Wednesday's big game

FC Barcelona Training Session and Press Conference Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana have a massive UEFA Champions League match against Manchester City on Wednesday, and coach Luis Enrique has selected 21 players to form the squad for the game at Camp Nou:

Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 25. Jordi Masip

Defenders: 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 20. Sergi Roberto, 22. Aleix Vidal, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 24. Jérémy Mathieu

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 7. Arda Turan, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 12. Rafinha Alcântara, 21. André Gomes

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Neymar Jr., 17. Paco Alcácer

No surprises from Lucho, although he has to drop three of the players on the list to form a definitive 18-man squad. This is probably just some mind games; Lucho doesn't want to give Pep any idea of his plans, and leaving out someone like Denis Suarez or Rafinha would make it easier for Guardiola to predict a certain lineup of tactical option.


Projected starting lineup (4-3-3, right-left):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Iniesta; Messi, Suárez, Neymar

The match starts at 8:45pm CET / 7:45pm BST (UK) / 2:45pm ET, 11:45am PT (US) / 12:15am IST (India, next day). You can join us to follow and comment all the action.


Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Barca Blaugranes Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Barca news from Barca Blaugranes