clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Should Sergio Ramos’s Goal for Real Madrid in El Clásico Have Been Disallowed?

Did the defender commit a foul?

FC Barcelona v Real Madrid CF - La Liga

Photo by Alex Caparros/Getty Images

Real Madrid defender Sergio Ramos scored a dramatic 90th minute equalizer against Barcelona in El Clássico last Saturday, but should the goal have been disallowed for a foul?

TV images show Ramos may have tripped Barça defender Javier Mascherano before scoring, allowing himself the space to head it into the net.

Take a look for yourself...

Was it simply incidental? A normal amount of contact for a set piece that always happens and is rarely caught by the cameras and the referees?

Or was it a dirty play to give himself the advantage in a turning point for, perhaps, the whole season? After all, that goal gives Madrid a six-point lead over the Catalans in the La Liga title race, but if someone spotted Ramos' trip, we could be looking at a very different scenario.

What do you think, Barça fans? Is that a foul or should we just accept the result?

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Barca Blaugranes Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Barca news from Barca Blaugranes