clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Missed penalty call costs Barcelona their Champions League lives


Just minutes after giving Atletico Madrid a penalty for a handball by Andres Iniesta, Barcelona should've had their own. Iniesta's attempted cross into the box just as regulation time was coming to an end clearly hit Gabi in the hand. The referee spotted it and whistled for a free kick. However, replays show that the ball was clearly inside the box when it was handled.

The resulting free kick flew over the bar and with it the chances of a Champions League repeat for the Blaugrana. A bitter way for Barcelona to be eliminated from the Champions League this season.

Barcelona's form has dipped at the worst possible time and it cost them dearly in the most prestigious of competitions against Atletico, a team that they've struggled with in the past. The club will now have to shift all of their focus on winning La Liga and the Copa del Rey if they hope to salvage this season.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Barca Blaugranes Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Barca news from Barca Blaugranes