clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Espanyol

David Ramos/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana have a huge Catalan Derby at Camp Nou against Espanyol that could win Barça La Liga, and coach Luis Enrique made sure to pick his best squad for the game.

It's a list without surprises from the coach, although there is one big absence: goalkeeper Claudio Bravo is out with a calf injury, and is likely to miss the rest of the season as Marc-André ter Stegen takes over the gloves. One important return is Jérémy Mathieu, back from a knee injury and medically cleared for the final three games of the season as he tries to make a comeback in time for the Euro 2016.

Thomas Vermaelen and Sandro Ramírez are injured and unavailable, while Douglas Pereira Adriano Correia and Marc Bartra will not be in uniform per coach's decision. These are the eighteen players called up by Lucho for the derby:

Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 25. Jordi Masip

Defenders: 3. Gerard Piqué, 6. Dani Alves, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 22. Aleix Vidal, 24. Jérémy Mathieu

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 7. Arda Turan, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 12. Rafinha Alcântara, 20. Sergi Roberto

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Neymar Jr, 17. Munir El-Haddadi

Projected Starting Lineup (4-3-3):

Stegen; Alves, Piqué, Mascherano, Alba; Busquets, Rakitic, Iniesta; Messi, Suárez, Neymar

The match starts at 17:00 CET / 11:00 EST / 20:30 IST, and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA! POR LA LIGA!