clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Sampdoria, 2016 Joan Gamper Trophy: Start time, TV schedule, live stream

The Catalan giants open their home for the new season

International Champions Cup 2016 - Leicester City v Barcelona Photo by Nils Petter Nilsson/Ombrello/Getty Images

As the season inches closer to its start, Barcelona finish the preseason preparations at home, as the Catalan giants open the Camp Nou doors for the traditional Joan Gamper Trophy, a friendly match that reaches its 51st edition in 2016.

This year, Barça enter the 25th season following the club's first ever Champions League title, when the continental tournament was known as European Cup, and the Blaugrana beat Sampdoria at Wembley and entered Europe's elite. Sampdoria is the invited club for this year's Gamper match, a great way to pay homage to Johan Cruyff's Dream Team and the Italian side that took Barça to overtime almost 25 years ago.

Barça have won the Gamper trophy in 33 of the previous 50 editions, which shows how much the game means to the club, the team and the fans, who pack the Culé house to watch what usually is a spectacle.

The Gamper also gives the local fans a chance to meet that season's squad for the first time. Luis Enrique's group for this campaign includes four new faces, and the signings will hope to make a big first impression. Plus, all the familiar stars will put on a show, meaning you cannot miss this game.

***

Date/Time: Wednesday, August 10, 2016, 8:30pm local time (CET), 7:30pm BST (UK), 2:30pm ET, 11:30am PT, Midnight IST (India)

Venue: Camp Nou, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Referee: Will Attend

On TV: Fox Deportes (US - Spanish), TV3 (Spain), elsewhere

Online: Radio Barça (Audio only), elsewhere

(Listings via LiveSoccerTV)