clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for Spanish Super Cup first leg against Sevilla

New, comments

Luis Enrique called up 18 players for the first leg in Seville

FC Barcelona v Sampdoria: Joan Gamper Trophy Photo by Alex Caparros/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana chase their first piece of silverware starting this Sunday, at the Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán Stadium against Sevilla, in the first leg of the Spanish Super Cup. And coach Luis Enrique has picked his best possible squad for the game.

There are a few key absentees for various reasons: goalkeeper Marc-André ter Stegen and full-back Jordi Alba are injured, while Neymar and Rafinha are still in Olympic duty. Douglas Pereira and Sergi Samper are not included per Enrique's decision, and stay in Barcelona to watch the game from home.

These are the eighteen players called up by Lucho to be in uniform on Sunday night:

Goalkeepers: 13. Claudio Bravo, 25. Jordi Masip

Defenders: 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 19. Lucas Digne, 22. Aleix Vidal, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 24. Jérémy Mathieu

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 7. Arda Turan, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. André Gomes

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 17. Munir El-Haddadi

*****

Projected Starting Lineup (4-3-3):

Bravo | Roberto, Piqué, Mascherano, Digne | Busquets, Rakitic, Iniesta | Messi, Suárez, Arda

*****

The match starts at 22:00 CET / 21:00 BST (UK) / 16:00 ET, 13:00 PT (US), 01:30 IST (India, next day), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!