clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Real Betis

New, comments

Coach Luis Enrique has called 18 players, one for Barça B, to form the squad for the league opener at Camp Nou

FC Barcelona v Sampdoria: Joan Gamper Trophy Photo by Alex Caparros/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana begin their title defense at home, opening La Liga with a game against Real Betis, and coach Luis Enrique has called up his squad for the match.

This was somewhat of a selection headache for Enrique, who doesn't have seven first team players available: Ter Stegen, Iniesta, Mascherano and Mathieu are injured, André Gomes is suspended and Neymar and Rafinha are still in Rio for the Olympics. Because of that, Lucho went to Barça B for some help and called up young midfielder Wilfried Kaptoum, a pleasant surprise. Douglas Pereira, who's somehow still a Barcelona player, is also on the squad.

These are the eighteen men called up by Lucho to be in uniform at Camp Nou:

Goalkeepers: 13. Claudio Bravo, 25. Jordi Masip

Defenders: 2. Douglas Pereira, 3. Gerard Piqué, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 22. Aleix Vidal, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 7. Arda Turan, 16. Sergi Samper, 20. Sergi Roberto, 27. Wilfried Kaptoum

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 17. Munir El-Haddadi

*****

Projected Starting Lineup (4-3-3):

Bravo | Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Digne | Busquets, Rakitic, Denis | Messi, Suárez, Arda

*****

The match starts at 18:15 CET / 17:15 BST (UK), 12:15 ET, 9:15 PT (US), 21:45 IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!