clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Real Betis, 2016 La Liga: Start time, TV listings, live stream

The Blaugranes kick off their league campaign at home

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Sevilla FC vs FC Barcelona - Spanish Super Cup Final 1st Leg Photo by Aitor Alcalde/Getty Images

The best team in the world is back to playing the league it dominates. Barcelona kick off their La Liga campaign at home against Real Betis. Before the match, the Catalans will lift the league trophy from last season in front of the fans, and will maybe provide a glimpse of what's to come again in nine month's time.

La Liga is fascinating. Many see it as a three-team league controlled by the richest clubs in the world, but the beauty of the league is seeing the other 17 teams trying their hardest to be at Barça, Madrid and Atlético's level. They get the best possible coaches they can get and sign the best possible players they're capable of signing, and then they go and challenge the big boys trying to upset them and shock the world.

This is what makes the league fun. Sure, you might see the same teams win every season, but sometimes they get a surprise loss from an opponent you never saw coming. Even when that doesn't happen, you still see those teams playing attractive football, and no team does that better than Barcelona. Do not miss their league opener, it will be just the first of many fun weekends. It's MUST. SEE. TELEVISION.

*****

Date/Time: Saturday, August 20, 2016, 6:15pm local time (CET), 5:15pm BST (UK), 12:15pm ET, 9:15am PT (US), 9:45pm IST (India)

Venue: Camp Nou, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Referee: Alberto Undiano Mallenco

On TV: beIN SPORTS (US & Canada), beIN SPORTS En Español (US & Canada - Spanish), Sky Sports 3 (UK), Sony Six HD (India), beIN La Liga, Movistar+ (Spain), elsewhere

Online streaming: beIN SPORTS CONNECT (US & Canada), FuboTV (US, monthly subscription, click here to sign up), Sky GO (UK), elsewhere

(Listings via LiveSoccerTV)