clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Athletic Bilbao

New, comments

Luis Enrique has called 18 players for the trip to San Mamés

FC Barcelona v Sampdoria: Joan Gamper Trophy Photo by Alex Caparros/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana continue their La Liga campaign with a trip to San Mamés to face Athletic Bilbao on Sunday, and coach Luis Enrique has called his squad for the game.

It's the most strongest available squad for the Asturian manager, who is boosted by the return of four players: goalkeeper Marc-André ter Stegen and Javier Mascherano are back from injury, André Gomes is free to make his league debut for Barça after missing out on the opening through suspension, and Rafinha Alcântara is back after playing in the Olympics for Brazil.

Four other players are not available: Neymar Jr. is in Brazil, Jasper Cillessen is yet to be registered, and Andrés Iniesta and Jérémy Mathieu miss out through injury. These are the 18 men called up by Enrique to be in uniform on Sunday:

Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 25. Jordi Masip

Defenders: 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 20. Sergi Roberto, 22. Aleix Vidal, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 7. Arda Turan, 12. Rafinha Alcântara, 21. André Gomes

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 17. Munir El-Haddadi

Projected Starting Lineup (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen | Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba | Busquets, Rakitic, Denis | Messi, Suárez, Arda

The match is on Sunday, at 20:15 CET / 19:15 BST (UK) / 14:15 ET, 11:15 PT (US), 23:45 IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!