clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for Champions Cup friendly against Liverpool

Luis Enrique has called 23 players, 3 from Barça B, to form the squad to face the Reds at Wembley

International Champions Cup 2016 - Leicester City v Barcelona Photo by Nils Petter Nilsson/Ombrello/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana continue their preseason friendlies with a Champions Cup encounter with Liverpool at the historic Wembley Stadium, and coach Luis Enrique has already picked his squad for the game.

After facing Celtic FC and Leicester City with plenty of youth academy products, only three Barça B youngsters have been called up to travel to London with the seniors. Just four first team players (Neymar, Rafinha, Umtiti, André Gomes) are not available due to Olympics/vacation, and apart from Jordi Alba, who has an illness, the rest boarded the plane with the coaching staff to face the Reds. There are no injuries so far, and Enrique hopes it stays that way as preseason rolls on.

These are the 23 men called up by Lucho to be in uniform at Wembley:

Goalkeepers: Marc-André ter Stegen, Claudio Bravo, Jordi Masip

Defenders: Douglas Pereira, Aleix Vidal, Gerard Piqué, Javier Mascherano, Thomas Vermaelen, Jérémy Mathieu, Lucas Digne

Midfielders: Ivan Rakitic, Sergio Busquets, Denis Suárez, Arda Turan, Andrés Iniesta, Sergi Roberto, Sergi Samper

Forwards: Luis Suárez, Lionel Messi, Munir El-Haddadi

Barça B: Rafael Mujica, Juan Cámara, Jesus Alfaro

The match starts at 18:15 CET / 17:15 BST (UK) / 12:15 ET, 9:15 PT (US) / 21:45 IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!