clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Liverpool, 2016 Champions Cup: Start time, TV listings, live stream

Barça faces the Reds at Wembley

International Champions Cup 2016 - Leicester City v Barcelona Photo by Nils Petter Nilsson/Ombrello/Getty Images

Barcelona's preseason continues on Saturday, as the Catalan giants face Liverpool at the historic Wembley Stadium hoping to continue a successful preparation period as we come closer to the new campaign.

Liverpool have a busy weekend, facing Barça and Mainz 05 in two days, but that does not mean Jürgen Klopp isn't taking this friendly serious. The weekend double-header is the last dress rehearsal before the Premier League starts, and playing against Barça is a great test for a team set to battle Arsenal in a week's time.

This is also a special match for Barcelona superstar Luis Suárez, who faces Liverpool for the first time since leaving the club where he shined the brightest before moving to the Blaugrana and being part of the most dangerous attacking force on Earth, the 'MSN' trio. Suárez nearly led the Reds to a shocking league title in 2014, and that amazing season was followed by a move to his childhood dream club.

El Pistolero was involved in a match for Liverpool, Steven Gerrard's testimonial, but he wore the Red shirt. This time, he's actually trying to score goals on the team he loves, and that should certainly be an emotional day for the best striker on the planet.

If Suárez facing Liverpool isn't enough, Lionel Messi will play, and it's at Wembley. Yeah, you would be crazy to miss this.

***

Date/Time: Saturday, August 6, 2016, 5:15pm local time (UK), 6:15pm CET (Europe), 12:15pm ET, 9:15am PT (US), 9:45pm IST (India)

Venue: Wembley Stadium, London, England

Referee: Will Be There

On TV: ESPN (US), ESPN Deportes (US - Spanish), TSN2 (Canada), Sky Sports 1 (UK), Sony ESPN (India), La Sexta, TV3 (Spain), elsewhere

Online streaming: WatchESPN (US), TSN GO (Canada), Sky GO, LFC TV, NOW TV (UK), elsewhere

(Listings via LiveSoccerTV)