clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Alavés

New, comments

No Ter Stegen, but Iniesta and Mathieu return as Luis Enrique names 18 players for Saturday's game

FC Barcelona v Getafe CF - La Liga Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana return after a two-week international break with a visit from Deportivo Alavés to Camp Nou, and coach Luis Enrique has named his squad for the game.

And this is a tumultuous list from the manager, to say the least. There are plenty of changes to the last match against Athletic Bilbao: first, Neymar returns from Brazil, Iniesta and Mathieu return from injury, and both Paco Alcácer and Jasper Cillessen are on the list for the first time. But there are bad news, as Marc-André ter Stegen picked up a knock in training and won't be available to face Alavés.

Despite having still and unclear status, Lionel Messi is on the list, but isn't expected to start, while Gerard Piqué and Sergi Roberto are out per coach's decision. These are the 18 men called up by Lucho to be in uniform on Saturday:

Goalkeepers: 13. Jasper Cillessen, 25. Jordi Masip

Defenders: 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 22. Aleix Vidal, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 24. Jérémy Mathieu

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 7. Arda Turan, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 12. Rafinha Alcântara

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Neymar Jr., 17. Paco Alcácer


Projected Starting Lineup (4-3-3):

Cillessen | Vidal, Mascherano, Umtiti, Digne | Busquets, Denis, Rafinha | Arda, Suárez, Neymar

The match starts at 8:30pm CET / 7:30pm BST (UK) / 2:30pm ET, 11:30am PT (US) / 12am IST (India, Sunday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!