clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for UEFA Champions League opener against Celtic

New, comments

Luis Enrique called up 18 players for Barça's European kickoff against the Scottish champions

FC Barcelona Training Session and Press Conference Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana kick off their UEFA Champions League season at Camp Nou against Celtic on Tuesday, and Luis Enrique has called up his squad for the game.

It's the absolute best 18-man squad possible called up by the manager, which includes the return of goalkeeper Marc-André ter Stegen, who has been medically cleared and will be available to play on Tuesday. Another returning man is André Gomes, who's recovered from a muscle injury and is ready to face Celtic. Jordi Masip, Aleix Vidal, Jérémy Mathieu and Denis Suarez are out per coach's decision.

These are the 18 men called up by Enrique to be in uniform on Tuesday:

Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 20. Sergi Roberto, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 7. Arda Turan, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 12. Rafinha Alcântara, 21. André Gomes

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Neymar Jr., 17. Paco Alcácer

Predicted Starting Lineup (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen | Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba | Busquets, Rakitic, Iniesta | Messi, Suárez, Neymar

The match starts at 8:45pm CET / 7:45pm BST (UK) / 2:45pm ET, 11:45am PT (US) /12:15am IST (India, Wednesday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!