clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Leganés

New, comments

Luis Enrique called up 18 players to be in uniform on Barcelona’s La Liga match in Madrid

FC Barcelona Training Session and Press Conference Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana return to La Liga with a visit to Madrid for a match against Leganés on Saturday, and Luis Enrique has called up an 18-man squad for the match.


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 20. Sergi Roberto, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 24. Jérémy Mathieu

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 6. Denis Suarez, 7. Arda Turan, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 12. Rafinha Alcântara, 21. André Gomes

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Neymar Jr., 17. Paco Alcácer


It’s a surprising list from the Barça manager, who leaves Sergio Busquets out of the list to rest his most important midfielder for the La Liga clash with Atlético Madrid next Wednesday. Jordi Masip, Lucas Digne and Aleix Vidal also don’t make the cut per Lucho’s decision.

There are a lot of midfielders and very few defenders, which means Enrique will probably keep his usual defense (with the only change being Mascherano in place of Umtiti) and rotate the midfield, giving chances to players like Rafinha, Denis Suarez and Arda Turan to start ahead of Rakitic and Iniesta with the Atleti match in mind.

Predicted Barcelona starting lineup (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen | Roberto, Piqué, Mascherano, Alba | Gomes, Rakitic, Rafinha | Messi, Suárez, Neymar

The match is on Saturday, starting at 1pm CET / 12pm BST (UK) / 7am ET, 4am PT (US) / 4:30pm IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!