clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Sporting Gijón

New, comments

Barça manager Luis Enrique has called up 18 players for the La Liga trip to El Molinón

FC Barcelona Training Session and Press Conference Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana travel to the Asturias for a key La Liga match against Sporting Gijón, and manager Luis Enrique has called up his squad for the game.


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 20. Sergi Roberto, 24. Jérémy Mathieu

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 7. Arda Turan, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 12. Rafinha Alc”ântara, 21. André Gomes

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 11. Neymar Jr., 17. Paco Alcácer


No surprises from Lucho, who decides to leave out Aleix Vidal and Jordi Masip, the forgotten men in this squad. Lionel Messi and Sammy Umtiti are injured until after the international break, so we are likely to see these 18 players selected for every match until the injured stars return. Plenty of midfielders, with lots of tactical and personnel options for Enrique to try on Saturday.

Projected starting lineup (4-3-3, right to left):

Ter Stegen | Roberto, Mascherano, Mathieu, Digne | Busquets, Rafinha, Gomes | Arda, Suárez, Neymar


The match is on Saturday, starting at 4:15pm CET / 3:15pm BST (UK) / 10:15am ET, 7:15am PT (US) / 7:45pm IST (India), and you can join us to comment and follow all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!