clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for UEFA Champions League match against Borussia Mönchengladbach

All healthy Barça players will travel to Germany for a key Champions League match

FC Barcelona Training Session and Press Conference Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

Barcelona manager Luis Enrique has announced a 20-man squad list for the trip to Germany for a big UEFA Champions League match against Borussia Mönchengladbach:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen, 25. Jordi Masip

Defenders: 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 20. Sergi Roberto, 22. Aleix Vidal, 24. Jérémy Mathieu

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 7. Arda Turan, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 12. Rafinha Alcântara, 21. André Gomes

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 11. Neymar Jr., 17. Paco Alcácer


Luis Enrique usually takes the entire squad with him for the away games in the Champions League, and only the injured players stay in Barcelona. This is the case for the Gladbach match, which means Aleix Vidal is back in the squad after four games out. He'll probably be cut from the bench since Barça can only have 18 players in uniform, but it's good that Vidal is at least traveling with the team.

Lionel Messi and Sammy Umtiti will stay home to continue treatment on their injuries, but the rest of the squad is healthy and available for selection.

Projected starting lineup (4-4-2, r-l):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Mascherano, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Iniesta, Arda; Suárez, Neymar

The match is on Wednesday, starting at 8:45pm CET / 7:45pm BST (UK) / 2:45pm ET, 11:45am PT (US) / 12:15am IST (India, next day), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!