clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Leo Messi’s free kick goal proves La Liga needs goal line technology

It counted, but should it have?

Lionel Messi has scored a free kick goal just seven minutes into the second half of Barcelona’s first leg Copa del Rey Round of 16 match against Athletic Bilbao to cut the deficit to 2-1.

However, it’s not 100 percent clear whether or not the ball actually went over the goal line or not. While it certainly appears that it did from replays, it’s not entirely conclusive.

via r/Soccer

We’ll let you be the judges from the replay, but all of the uncertainty could’ve been prevented if La Liga had the insanely accurate and successful goal line technology system that has been used by UEFA and the Premier League.

The initial shot by Messi was saved by the goalkeeper but the ball popped up in the air and landed right near his body and the goal line, leaving us with an uncertain view of if the ball was totally over the line. Barcelona won’t complain about the result, though. 2-1!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Barca Blaugranes Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Barca news from Barca Blaugranes