clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for Champions League match against Olympiacos

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called 20 players for the trip to Athens

Athletic Club v Barcelona - La Liga Photo by Juan Manuel Serrano Arce/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana face Olympiacos in Athens in a key Champions game, and Ernesto Valverde has called 20 players for the trip to Greece. Two will be cut from the matchday squad, and 18 players will be in uniform tonight.

This is the full squad:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen, 31. Adrián Ortolá

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 25. Thomas Vermaelen

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 15. Paulinho Bezerra, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. André Gomes, 26. Carles Aleñá

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 16. Gerard Deulofeu, 17. Paco Alcácer


Valverde is missing a LOT of players for this one: Andrés Iniesta, Ousmane Dembélé, Aleix Vidal, Rafinha Alcântara and Arda Turan are injured, while Gerard Piqué is suspended for a stupid red card in the reverse fixture against Olympiacos. Javier Mascherano is in the squad but has not been medically cleared, so he probably won’t be in uniform.

Predicted starting lineup (4-4-2):

Ter Stegen; Semedo, Umtiti, Digne, Alba; Roberto, Rakitic, Busquets, Denis; Messi, Suárez


The match kicks off on Tuesday night at 8:45pm (Barcelona & Nigeria) / 7:45pm GMT (UK) / 3:45pm ET, 12:45pm PT (USA) / 1:15am IST (India, Wednesday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!