clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Villarreal

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called 18 players for Sunday’s game

FC Barcelona v Sporting CP - UEFA Champions League Photo by Alex Caparros/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana travel to El Madrigal for a big La Liga game against Villarreal on Sunday night, and Ernesto Valverde has called 18 players to be in uniform on the night.

This is the full squad:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 22. Aleix Vidal, 25. Thomas Vermaelen, 39. David Costas

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suárez, 15. Paulinho Bezerra, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. André Gomes

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 17. Paco Alcácer


Five first team players miss this one through injury (Samuel Umtiti, Javier Mascherano, Andrés Iniesta, Rafinha Alcântara, Ousmane Dembélé), and Arda Turan and Gerard Deulofeu have been left out per Valverde’s decision. The squad is pretty thin right now, especially in defense, so Barça B center-back David Costas gets a call for this trip.

Predicted starting XI (4-4-2):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Vermaelen, Alba; Paulinho, Rakitic, Busquets, Gomes; Messi, Suárez


The match kicks off on Sunday night at 8:45pm CET/WAT (Barcelona/Nigeria), 7:45pm GMT (UK), 2:45pm ET, 11:45am PT (USA), 1:15am IST (India, Monday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!