clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Deportivo

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called 19 players for Sunday’s game at Camp Nou

Valencia v Barcelona - La Liga Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana welcome Deportivo La Coruña for a big La Liga game at Camp Nou, and Ernesto Valverde has called 19 players for this one.

Just before the match, one player will be cut from the matchday squad so 18 can be in uniform. This is the full squad:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 22. Aleix Vidal, 25. Thomas Vermaelen

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 15. Paulinho Bezerra, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. André Gomes

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 17. Paco Alcácer


There are some great news in this list: Iniesta is back! The club captain has recovered from a muscle injury and will probably get a few minutes in this one to get ready for El Clásico, and Mascherano is also back after several weeks off. Samuel Umtiti, Ousmane Dembélé, Gerard Deulofeu and Rafinha Alcântara miss out through injury, while Arda Turan is left out per Valverde’s decision.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-1-2):

Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Vermaelen, Alba; Paulinho, Rakitic, Gomes; Messi; Alcácer, Suárez


The match kicks off on Sunday at 8:45pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 7:45pm GMT (UK), 2:45pm ET, 11:45am PT (USA), 1:15am IST (India, Monday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!