clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for Champions League match against Sporting

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players for the last game of the group stage

Barcelona v Malaga - La Liga Photo by Alex Caparros/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana finish their Champions League group stage campaign at home against Sporting, and Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players to be in uniform on Tuesday night.

This is the full squad:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 22. Aleix Vidal, 25. Thomas Vermaelen

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 15. Paulinho Bezerra, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. André Gomes

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 16. Gerard Deulofeu, 17. Paco Alcácer


The injuries keep piling up at Barça, and for this game Valverde will be missing Samuel Umtiti, Andrés Iniesta, Javier Mascherano, Ousmane Dembélé, Rafinha Alcântara and Arda Turan due to physical issues. Since Barça have already qualified and won their group, there’s a good chance Valverde will rotate his squad in this one.

Predicted starting XI (4-4-2):

Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Vermaelen, Digne; Roberto, Paulinho, Busquets, Denis; Messi, Suárez


The match kicks off on Tuesday night at 8:45pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria) / 7:45pm GMT (UK) / 2:45pm ET, 11:45am (USA) / 1:15am IST (India, Wednesday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!