clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for El Clásico against Real Madrid (Supercopa de Espãna, 1st leg)

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players to be in uniform for the game at Camp Nou

FC Barcelona v Chapecoense - Joan Gamper Trophy Photo by Alex Caparros/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana start the new season with the first leg of the Spanish Super Cup against Real Madrid, and manager Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players to be in uniform for the match at Camp Nou.

This is the full squad:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 22. Aleix Vidal, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 20. Sergi Roberto

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 16. Gerard Deulofeu, 17. Paco Alcácer


Thomas Vermaelen, André Gomes and Rafinha Alcântara miss out through injury, while Marlon Santos, Douglas Pereira, Sergi Samper, Arda Turan and Munir El-Haddadi are left out of the squad for technical reasons.

Predicted starting lineup (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Vidal, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Iniesta; Messi, Suárez, Deulofeu


The match kicks off on Sunday at 10pm CET / 9pm BST (UK) / 4pm ET, 1pm PT (USA) / 1:30am IST (India, Monday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!