clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for El Clásico against Real Madrid (Supercopa de Espãna, 2nd leg)

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 19 players for the second El Clásico of the week

FC Barcelona v Chapecoense - Joan Gamper Trophy Photo by Alex Caparros/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana play the second El Clásico in four days against Real Madrid, this time in the second leg of the Spanish Super Cup at the Santiago Bernabéu. Coach Ernesto Valverde has called up 19 players for the trip, and will cut one of them from the 18-man squad that will be in uniform.

This is the full list:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 22. Aleix Vidal, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. André Gomes, 26. Carles Aleñá

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 16. Gerard Deulofeu, 17. Paco Alcácer


There are good and bad news in this list: André Gomes returns after a few injury issues and could make his first appearance of the season; the bad news is that Andrés Iniesta has a muscle injury and will be out for the next few weeks, and the captain is replaced by Aleñá for tonight’s match.

Predicted starting lineup (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Vidal, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Roberto; Messi, Suárez, Deulofeu


The match kicks off on Wednesday at 11pm CET / 10pm BST (UK) / 5pm ET, 2pm PT (USA) / 2:30am IST (India, Thursday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!