clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for La Liga season opener against Real Betis

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players for the league debut

FC Barcelona v Juventus - UEFA Champions League Quarter Final: Second Leg Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana start the new season of La Liga with a game at Camp Nou against Real Betis, and Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players to be in uniform today.

This is the full squad:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 22. Aleix Vidal, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 7. Arda Turan, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. André Gomes

Forwards: 10. Lionel Messi, 16. Gerard Deulofeu, 17. Paco Alcácer


Luis Suárez and captain Andrés Iniesta miss out through injury. Marlon Santos, Thomas Vermaelen, Douglas Pereira, Sergi Samper and Munir El-Haddadi are left out per Valverde’s decision, while Paulinho has not yet been registered as a Barça player and is unavailable for selection this week.

Predicted starting lineup (4-4-2):

Ter Stegen; Semedo, Mascherano, Umtiti, Alba; Roberto, Rakitic, Busquets, Denis; Messi, Alcácer


The match kicks off at 8:15pm CET / 7:15pm BST (UK) / 2:15pm ET, 11:15am PT (USA) / 11:45pm IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!