clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Alavés

New, comments

PAULINHO! INIESTA!

Barcelona v Guangzhou Evergrande FC - FIFA Club World Cup Semi Final Photo by Masterpress/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana travel to the Basque Country for the first away game of the La Liga season against Deportivo Alavés, and coach Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players to be in uniform on Saturday.

This is the full squad:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 22. Aleix Vidal, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 15. Paulinho, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. André Gomes

Forwards: 10. Lionel Messi, 16. Gerard Deulofeu, 17. Paco Alcácer


The good news is the return of Andrés Iniesta, who has been medically cleared after missing the last two matches with a thigh injury. New signing Paulinho is part of the squad and could make his debut. Ousmane Dembélé is still not registered in the Spanish League and will only play for the Blaugrana after the international break.

Luis Suárez and Rafinha Alcântara miss out through injury, while Marlon Santos, Thomas Vermaelen, Lucas Digne, Douglas Pereira, Arda Turan and Munir El-Haddadi are left out per technical decision.

Predicted starting lineup (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Roberto; Deulofeu, Messi, Alcácer


The match kicks off at 6:15pm CET / 5:15pm BST (UK) / 12:15pm ET, 9:15am PT (USA) / 9:45pm IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!