clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Celta Vigo, Copa del Rey: Team News, Match Preview

New, comments

Barça play the second leg of their Copa del Rey Round of 16 matchup at home. Can they reach the quarter finals?

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

FC Barcelona v Levante - La Liga Santander Photo by Laurens Lindhout/Soccrates/Getty Images

Barcelona football is back! The Blaugrana play the second leg of the Copa del Rey Round of 16 against Celta Vigo at Camp Nou, and the Catalan giants are in good position to qualify for the quarter finals.

After a 1-1 draw away at the Balaídos without the three best players in the squad, Barça carry a pretty good result into the return leg, including an away goal. Now it’s about finishing the job and getting either a win or a 0-0 draw to guarantee a place in the Last Eight.

Goalless draws are boring, though. Let’s score some goals and win this thing, shall we?


MATCH INFO, TV/STREAMING

Competition/Round: Copa del Rey, Round of 16 2nd leg

Date/Time: Thursday, January 11, 2018, 21:30 CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 20:30 GMT (UK), 15:30 EST, 12:30 PST (USA), 02:00 IST (India, next day)

Venue: Camp Nou, Barcelona, Catalonia

Television: beIN SPORTS (USA & Canada), Gol TV (Spain)

Online streaming: beIN SPORTS CONNECT (USA & Canada), FuboTV (7-day free trial, click here to sign up)

(Listings via LiveSoccerTV)


TEAM NEWS

After resting Lionel Messi, Andrés Iniesta and Luis Suárez for the first leg Valverde calls all of his superstars to try and get the win here. All three are expected to start, but with a trip to Anoeta on Sunday night we could see a little bit of rotation in the side. However, the most probable thing is a really strong starting lineup with three early substitutions in the second half if qualification is secured.

New signing Philippe Coutinho isn’t making his debut until February, and he misses out along with Samuel Umtiti and Paco Alcácer who are also injured.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona (4-4-2)

Cillessen; Roberto, Piqué, Mascherano, Alba; Dembélé, Busquets, Paulinho, Iniesta; Messi, Suárez

Celta Vigo (4-4-2)

Sergio; Mallo, Gómez, Fontàs, Jonny; Wass, Lobotka, Jozabed, Sisto; Aspas, Gómez


PREDICTION

This will be tough, but we’ll get the job done: 3-1 Barça.