clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Coutinho set for debut as Barcelona announce squad for Copa del Rey match against Espanyol

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 19 players for the second leg of this quarter-final

New Barcelona Signing Philippe Coutinho Unveiled Photo by Xavier Bonilla/NurPhoto via Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana welcome Espanyol to Camp Nou for the second leg of their Copa del Rey quarter-final matchup, with the visitors having a 1-0 advantage from the first leg.

Ernesto Valverde has called 19 players to be in the squad, and this is the full list:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 20. Sergi Roberto, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 24. Yerry Mina

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 14. Philippe Coutinho, 15. Paulinho Bezerra, 21. André Gomes, 22. Aleix Vidal

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 17. Paco Alcácer

Note: One player will be cut from the final squad of 18 players.


There are quite a few great news from this squad: Philippe Coutinho is ready to make his debut! The Brazilian is fully recovered from a muscle injury and will be available to play against his former club. New signing Yerry Mina is also in the squad for the first time, replacing the injured Thomas Vermaelen.

But wait, there’s more good news! Andrés Iniesta and Paco Alcácer have also been cleared to play and are part of the squad, leaving only Vermaelen and Ousmane Dembélé as the injured players in the group. Denis Suarez and Gerard Deulofeu have been left out per Valverde’s decision.

Predicted starting XI (4-4-2):

Cillessen; Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Paulinho, Rakitic, Busquets, Iniesta; Messi, Suárez


The match kicks off at 21:30 CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 20:30 GMT (UK), 15:30 EST, 12:30PM PST (USA), 02:00 IST (India, next day), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!