clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Dembélé returns as Barcelona announce squad for Copa del Rey match against Celta Vigo

New, comments

Messi and Suárez are rested, but Ous is back!

FBL-ESP-LIGA-BARCELONA-TRAINING Photo credit should read LLUIS GENE/AFP/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana travel to Galicia for the first leg of their Copa del Rey Round of 16 matchup against Celta Vigo, and Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players for the trip.

This is the full squad:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 20. Sergi Roberto, 25. Thomas Vermaelen

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 15. Paulinho Bezerra, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. André Gomes, 22. Aleix Vidal, 26. Carles Aleñá

Forwards: 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 37. José Arnáiz


Paco Alcácer and Samuel Umtiti are the only ones missing through injury, which is good news given the medical team had to take care of A LOT of players during the month of December. Along with the two injured players, Lionel Messi, Luis Suárez, Andrés Iniesta, Rafinha Alcântara, Gerard Deulofeu and Arda Turan will stay in Barcelona per Valverde’s decision.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Cillessen; Semedo, Mascherano, Vermaelen, Digne; Roberto, Rakitic, Gomes; Vidal, Dembélé, Denis


The match kicks off at 7pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 6pm GMT (UK), 1pm ET, 10am PT (USA), 11:30pm IST (India)