clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Cultural Leonesa live blog, Lenglet header wins it

New, comments

Follow along as Barça start their Spanish Cup journey!

FC Barcelona v Sevilla FC - La Liga Photo by Alex Caparros/Getty Images

FULL TIME! Cultural Leonesa 0-1 Barcelona: All over and Barcelona sneak the win thanks to Lenglet’s late goal. It was a tough old match but Ernesto Valverde’s men just managed to take victory.


GOAL! Cultural Leonesa 0-1 Barcelona: Lenglet scores! Barcelona have won it at the death with a header from the substitute - it’s his first goal for the club!


SECOND HALF, Cultural Leonesa 0-0 Barcelona: Here we go again. Some goals please guys.


HALF-TIME, Cultural Leonesa 0-0 Barcelona: No goals yet and not many chances to speak of either. Barcelona have seen plenty of the ball, but they’ve been a bit sloppy and are lacking a bit of rhythm, as you may expect from such a changed side. Cultural Leonesa have tested Jasper Cillessen a cople of times, and they’ve certainly not been afraid to get stuck in. An intriguing second half awaits.


SUBSTITUTION: Cultural Leonesa 0-0 Barcelona: There’s more injury misery for Sergi Samper. He’s been forced off with a problem and Carles Alena has come on to replace him. Samper looks distraught on the bench. Such a shame.


KICK-OFF! Cultural Leonesa 0-0 Barcelona: And we are OFF! Barcelona get us underway and it’s all systems go in the Copa del Rey.


LINEUPS

BARCELONA

Starting XI: Cillessen; Semedo, Cuenca, Chumi, Miranda; Vidal, Samper, Denis; Dembélé, Munir, Malcom

Bench: Peña, Lenglet, Roberto, Arthur, Aleñá, Puig, Rafinha

CULTURAL LEONESA

Starting XI: Palatsí; Saúl, Escalante, González, Bernal; Romero, Marcos, Beltrán, Aridane; Ortiz, Zelu

Bench: Díaz, Diarra, Alonso, Samu, Calvo, Rodríguez, Mance


It’s Copa del Rey time!!! The Spanish Cup starts this week for the top La Liga sides, and Barcelona begin their journey with a trip to Cultural Leonesa of Spain’s Third Division. This should be easy on paper, but we all know these smaller clubs really look forward to playing the big boys, and with Ernesto Valverde certainly making a lot of changes to the team this could be tricky. But it’s also a chance for reserves and young players to prove their worth, so let’s all follow along and support Barça in tonight’s LIVE BLOG!!!

(Note: the comments will be open only when the team news come out, because our commenter people love commenting and sometimes there are too many comments in the comments section)


MATCH INFO

Competition/Round: 2018-19 Copa del Rey, Round of 32 1st leg

Date/Time: Wednesday, October 31, 2018, 9.30pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 8.30pm GMT (UK), 4.30pm ET, 1.30pm PT (USA), 2am IST (India, Thursday)

Venue: Estadio Reino de León, León, Spain

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM COPA DEL REY

How to watch on TV: beIN SPORTS (USA & Canada), others

How to stream: beIN SPORTS CONNECT (USA & Canada), others


Matchday Thread Rules

We don’t have a lot of rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when joining our matchday threads:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game, no swearing. It’s just unnecessary. Also, don’t discuss illegal streaming links. Those who do it will be warned, and those who post links will be instantly banned. Finally, be nice to each other. This is a Barcelona community and we don’t need to offend one another.

Have fun with the game! Forever and ever, no matter the competition, VISCA EL BARÇA!