clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Valencia

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 19 players for the trip to Mestalla

FC Barcelona v Boca Juniors - Joan Gamper Trophy Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana will be hoping to use the win against Tottenham Hotspur to build momentum and end a three-game winless streak in La Liga when they face a very difficult trip to Mestalla to play Valencia.

Barça manager Ernesto Valverde has called up the following 19 players for the trip, with one of them cut from the final 18-man squad that will be in uniform:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 15. Clément Lenglet, 18. Jordi Alba, 24. Thomas Vermaelen

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 7. Philippe Coutinho, 8. Arthur, 12. Rafinha, 22. Arturo Vidal

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 14. Malcom, 19. Munir


There are no fresh injury concerns or suspensions after the Tottenham game, so Valverde decided to leave Sergi Samper and Carles Aleñá at home while Samuel Umtiti and Sergi Roberto cannot be part of the squad due to injury.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Arthur; Messi, Suárez, Coutinho


The match kicks off at 8.45pm CET (Barcelona), 7.45pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 2.45pm ET, 11.45am PT (USA), 12.15am IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!