clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Valencia vs Barcelona live blog, full-time: Barça dominate but cannot find winner at Mestalla

New, comments

Let’s follow along as Barça travel to Mestalla!

Valencia CF v Club Atletico de Madrid - La Liga Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

FULL-TIME, Valencia 1-1 Barcelona: Barça dominated the second half and tried everything to find a winner, but Los Che defended really well and we just couldn’t score a second. It’s now four games without a win in La Liga, but it’s impossible to be angry at the team tonight. They played really well against a really good team but just couldn’t win the game. It happens. We’re still top of the table, though, which is great news.


SECOND HALF KICKOFF! Valencia 1-1 Barcelona: Come on, boys! Let’s complete the comeback!


HALFTIME, Valencia 1-1 Barcelona: This is a fantastic game of football, and Barça deserve more than just one goal for how well they’re playing and the chances they created. But the bad defense in the first 10 minutes cost them, and we’re tied at the half. Arthur, though. What a player.


GOAL!!! Valencia 1-1 Barcelona (Messi 23’): BARÇA EQUALIZE! Fantastic one-two between Lionel Messi and Luis Suárez, and Leo fires a rocket onto the bottom corner. It’s all square at Mestalla, and Barça are playing really well right now.


GOAL, Valencia 1-0 Barcelona (Garay 2’): It’s the worst possible start for Barça as Ezequiel Garay gives Valencia the lead after a corner. We have work to do here.


KICKOFF! Valencia 0-0 Barcelona: Don’t give me a heart attack, boys. Please.


LINEUPS

BARCELONA

Starting XI: Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Vermaelen, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Arthur; Messi, Suárez, Coutinho (4-3-3)

Bench: Cillessen, Lenglet, Vidal, Denis, Rafinha, Dembélé, Munir

VALENCIA

Starting XI: Neto; Piccini, Garay, Gabriel, Gayà; Soler, Parejo, Kondogbia, Guedes; Batshuayi, Gameiro (4-4-2)

Bench: Domenech, Murillo, Lato, Coquelin, Wass, Cheryshev, Rodrigo


It’s La Liga Sunday! This will be the final match in Spain before the international break, and what a match it is! Barcelona travel to the Mestalla to face Valencia, and throughout the years these have been some of the best games of the season. This shouldn’t be any different with Barça coming off a huge win at Wembley and Valencia looking for their first home victory. This should be fun, so let’s follow along with a big LIVE BLOG!

(Note: the comments will be open only when the team news come out, because our commenter people love commenting and sometimes there are too many comments in the comments section)


MATCH INFO

Competition/Round: 2018-19 La Liga, Matchday 8

Date/Time: Sunday, October 7, 2018, 8.45pm CET (Barcelona), 7.45pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 2.45pm ET, 11.45am PT (USA), 12.15am IST (India)

Venue: Estadio de Mestalla, Valencia, Spain

Referee: José Luis González González

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM LA LIGA

How to watch on TV: beIN SPORTS (USA & Canada), Eleven Sports 1 (UK), SuperSport 7 (Nigeria), SONY TEN 2 (India), others

How to stream: beIN SPORTS CONNECT (USA & Canada), others


Matchday Thread Rules

We don’t have a lot of rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when joining our matchday threads:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game, no swearing. It’s just unnecessary. Also, don’t discuss illegal streaming links. Those who do it will be warned, and those who post links will be instantly banned. Finally, be nice to each other. This is a Barcelona community and we don’t need to offend one another.

Have fun with the game! Forever and ever, no matter the competition, VISCA EL BARÇA!