clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Real Betis

New, comments

MESSI IS REALLY BACK THIS TIME!!!!!!!!

Valencia CF v FC Barcelona - La Liga Photo by Manuel Queimadelos Alonso/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana are back in action in La Liga looking to stay top of the table, but it’s a very difficult challenge as the champions welcome Real Betis to the Camp Nou on Sunday.

Ernesto Valverde has called up the following 19 players* for the game, with two big names returning!


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 15. Clément Lenglet, 18. Jordi Alba, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 8. Arthur, 12. Rafinha, 20. Sergi Roberto, 22. Arturo Vidal, 26. Carles Aleñá

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 14. Malcom, 19. Munir

*One of these players will be cut from the final matchday squad. The favorites: Denis, Munir.


The big news here is obviously the return of Lionel Messi, who is cleared after missing the last three weeks with a broken arm. But another big name back is Samuel Umtiti, finally returning from a knee problem. Missing Sunday’s match are the injured Philippe Coutinho, Sergi Samper and Thomas Vermaelen, while Ousmane Dembélé is out per the manager’s decision.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Vidal, Busquets, Arthur; Messi, Suárez, Malcom


The match kicks off at 4.15pm CET (Barcelona & Nigeria), 3.15pm GMT (UK), 10.15am ET, 7.15am PT (USA), 8.45pm IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!