clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Atlético Madrid

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players for the trip to Madrid

FC Barcelona v Sevilla FC - La Liga Photo by Alex Caparros/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana return to La Liga action after the international break with a gigantic clash against Atlético Madrid, and Ernesto Valverde is taking his best available players for the trip to the Spanish capital.

These are the 18 players that will be in uniform on Saturday night:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 15. Clément Lenglet, 18. Jordi Alba, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 5. Sergio Busquets, 8. Arthur, 12. Rafinha, 20. Sergi Roberto, 22. Arturo Vidal, 26. Carles Aleñá

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 14. Malcom, 19. Munir


The Barça manager is dealing with serious absences for the first time this season, and for the trip to Wanda he cannot have Philippe Coutinho and Ivan Rakitic, who are out due to injury. Thomas Vermaelen and Sergi Samper also miss out due to medical issues, while Denis Suarez won’t travel per the manager’s choice.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Vidal, Busquets, Arthur; Messi, Suárez, Malcom


The match kicks off at 8.45pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 7.45pm GMT (UK), 2.45pm ET, 11.4am PT (USA), 1.15am IST (India, Sunday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!