clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for Copa del Rey match against Cultural Leonesa

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 19 players for Wednesday’s Round of 32 second leg

FC Barcelona v Villarreal CF - La Liga Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana welcome Cultural Leonesa for the second leg of their Copa del Rey Round of 32 matchup, with Barça carrying a 1-0 lead from the first game.

Ernesto Valverde has called up the following 19 players for the game, with one of them cut from the final matchday squad:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 15. Clément Lenglet, 24. Thomas Vermaelen, 27. Juan Miranda, 36. Chumi

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 6. Denis Suarez, 7. Philippe Coutinho, 21. Carles Aleñá, 22. Arturo Vidal, 28. Riqui Puig, 34. Álex Collado, 35. Oriol Busquets, 38. Guillem Jaime

Forwards: 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 14. Malcom, 19. Munir


Since this is a Cup game against a Third Division side, Valverde allows himself to rest his main players, so Gerard Piqué, Jordi Alba, Sergio Busquets and Lionel Messi get the day off. Missing through injury are Arthur, Luis Suárez, Rafinha, Sergi Samper, Sergi Roberto and Samuel Umtiti.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Cillessen; Semedo, Chumi, Vermaelen, Miranda; Aleñá, Rakitic, Puig; Malcom, Munir, Denis


The match kicks of at 9.30pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 8.30pm GMT (UK), 3.30pm ET, 12.30pm PT (USA), 2am IST (India, Thursday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!