clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Cultural Leonesa, Copa del Rey: Team News, Match Preview

New, comments

The champions look to avoid an upset and confirm their place in the Round of 16

Cultural Leonesa v FC Barcelona - Spanish Copa del Rey Photo by Octavio Passos/Getty Images

FC Barcelona (La Liga) vs Cultural Leonesa (Segunda B)


Competition/Round: 2018-19 Copa del Rey, Round of 32, 2nd Leg

First leg result: Barcelona 1-0 Cultural Leonesa

Barcelona Outs and Doubts: Lionel Messi, Gerard Piqué, Jordi Alba, Sergio Busquets, Arthur, Luis Suárez, Rafinha, Sergi Samper, Sergi Roberto, Samuel Umtiti (out)

Leonesa Outs and Doubts: Sergio Marcos (out)

Date/Time: Wednesday, December 5, 2018, 9.30pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 8.30pm GMT (UK), 3.30pm ET, 12.30pm PT (USA), 2am IST (India, Thursday)

Venue: Camp Nou, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Referee: Alberto Undiano Mallenco

How to watch on TV: beIN SPORTS (USA & Canada), others

How to stream: beIN SPORTS CONNECT (USA & Canada), others


Following a confidence-boosting win over Villarreal on Sunday, Barcelona are back at Camp Nou for the second leg of their Copa del Rey Round of 32 matchup with Third Division side Cultural Leonesa. Barça performed very badly in the first game, but they had a much changed side that night and still won thanks to a late Clément Lenglet header.

The Blaugrana will be massive favorites to progress to the Round of 16. After all, they’re playing at home against a Third Division side. Even though Ernesto Valverde is dealing with many injuries and using plenty of Barça B youngsters for this game, the Barça team will be much, much better than Leonesa, and they should win big and qualify without much trouble.

But you never know. Magic of the Cup, right?


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona (4-3-3): Cillessen; Semedo, Chumi, Vermaelen, Miranda; Aleñá, Rakitic, Puig; Malcom, Munir, Denis

Leonesa (4-2-3-1): Diarrá; Saúl, José Alonso, Albizua, Viti; Yeray, Martínez; Ortiz, Señé, Hugo Rodríguez; Aridane


PREDICTION

I have a feeling Malcom will have a big night if he starts. Like a hat-trick type of big night to really prove he deserves more minutes. 5-0 Barça.