clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Iniesta and Messi miss out as Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Málaga

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players for Saturday’s trip to Málaga

Valencia v Barcelona - Copa del Rey Semi Final Second Leg Photo by Manuel Queimadelos Alonso/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana travel to Málaga for a big La Liga game for the leaders, and Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players for Saturday’s matchup.

This is the full squad:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 3. Gerard Piqué, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 20. Sergi Roberto, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 24. Yerri Mina* 25. Thomas Vermaelen

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 11. Philippe Coutinho, 15. Paulinho Bezerra, 21. André Gomes, 22. Aleix Vidal

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 17. Paco Alcácer

*Yerry Mina replaces Lionel Messi, who is out for personal reasons.


Valverde didn’t have a lot to choose from in this one thanks to the injuries to Nélson Semedo and Andrés Iniesta, as well as Denis Suarez.

Predicted starting XI (4-4-2):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Dembélé, Rakitic, Busquets, Coutinho; Alcácer, Suárez


The match kicks off at 8.45pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 7.45pm BST (UK), 2.45pm EST, 11.45am PST (USA), 1.15am IST (India, next day), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!