clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Iniesta returns as Barcelona announce squad for Champions League match against Chelsea

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players for Wednesday’s massive European match

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana face Chelsea in the second leg of their Champion League Round of 16 tie, and Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players to be in uniform on Wednesday night.

This is the full squad:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 3. Gerard Piqué, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 20. Sergi Roberto, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 25. Thomas Vermaelen

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 15. Paulinho Bezerra, 21. André Gomes, 22. Aleix Vidal

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 17. Paco Alcácer


The big news is the return of captain Andrés Iniesta, who has made a quick return following a hamstring injury and should be fit enough for at least 30 minutes in the second half. There are some bad news, though, with Philippe Coutinho ineligible to play and Nélson Semedo injured. Denis Suarez is also out due to injury, while Yerry Mina is out per the choice of the manager.

Predicted starting XI (4-4-2):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Rakitic, Paulinho, Busquets, Gomes; Messi, Suárez


The match kicks off at 8.45pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 7.45pm BST (UK), 2.45pm EST, 11.45am PST (USA), 1.15am IST (India, next day), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!