clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Aleñà returns as Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Athletic Bilbao

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players for Sunday's match

Espanyol v Barcelona - Spanish Copa del Rey Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana welcome Athletic Bilbao to Camp Nou for a tough La Liga game, and Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players to be in uniform on Sunday afternoon.

This is the full squad:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 3. Gerard Piqué, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 20. Sergi Roberto, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 24. Yerry Mina

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 14. Philippe Coutinho, 15. Paulinho Bezerra, 21. André Gomes, 22. Aleix Vidal, 26. Carles Aleñà

Forwards: 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 17. Paco Alcácer


There are two important absences for this one: Sergio Busquets is out with injury while Luis Suárez misses out due to suspension. Nélson Semedo, Denis Suarez and Thomas Vermaelen are also injured and cannot play. With only 17 first team players available, Valverde called up Aleñà from Barça B, although he’s unlikely to start.

Predicted starting XI (4-4-2):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Vidal, Rakitic, Paulinho, Coutinho; Messi, Alcácer


The match kicks off at 4.15pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 3.15pm GMT (UK), 11.15am EST, 8.15am PST (USA), 8.45pm IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!