clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sevilla vs Barcelona, La Liga: Team News, Match Preview

New, comments

Barça travel to a historically tough venue looking to take a big step towards the title

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

FC Barcelona v Chelsea FC - UEFA Champions League Round of 16: Second Leg Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images

Sevilla (6th, 45pts) vs Barcelona (1st, 75pts)


Competition/Round: 2017-18 La Liga, Matchday 30

Barcelona team news: Sergio Busquets, Lucas Digne (out, injury), Aleix Vidal, Yerry Mina (not in squad)

Sevilla team news: Pablo Sarabia (suspended), Lionel Carole (ineligible)

Date/Time: Saturday, March 31st, 2018, 8.45pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 7.45pm GMT (UK), 2.45pm EST, 11.45am PST (USA), 12.15am IST (India, next day)

Venue: Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán, Seville, Spain

Referee: José Luis González González

How to watch on TV: beIN SPORTS (USA & Canada), Sky Sports Football (UK), SuperSport 7 (Nigeria), SONY TEN 2 (India), others

How to stream: beIN SPORTS CONNECT (USA & Canada), Sky GO (UK), FuboTV (7-day free trial, click here to sign up)


Wait, the international break is over? I thought we had another month of it! Anyway, this is finally done and Barcelona are back in action, so my life is good again. The Blaugrana face a giant Champions League quarter-final against AS Roma on Wednesday, but before that they face a really tough La Liga match on Saturday night.

The league leaders travel to Sevilla for what has been a historically tough fixture regardless of how good Barça have been or how poor Sevilla have been. Playing at the Pizjuán is always tough and will always be tough, and Barça will have to play a REALLY good game in order to win.

Will Lionel Messi start? Will Barça win? Will the match all of a sudden be interrupted for an international friendly? We’ll find out.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona: Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Dembélé, Rakitic, Paulinho, Coutinho; Messi, Suárez

Sevilla: Rico; Mercado, Kjaer, Lenglet, Escudero; N’Zonzi; Navas, Vázquez, Banega, Correa; Muriel


PREDICTION

Man, going to Sevilla is SO tough... 1-1 draw... Sorry.