clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Piqué, Busquets, Iniesta OUT as Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Celta Vigo

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players for the trip to the Balaídos

Barcelona v Getafe - La Liga Photo by Alex Caparros/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana travel to the Balaídos for what promises to be a tough La Liga game against Celta Vigo, and Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players for the trip.

This is the full squad:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 20. Sergi Roberto, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 24. Yerry Mina, 25. Thomas Vermaelen

Midfielders: 6. Denis Suarez, 14. Philippe Coutinho, 15. Paulinho Bezerra, 21. André Gomes, 22. Aleix Vidal

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 17. Paco Alcácer


The Copa del Rey Final against Sevilla is on Saturday, and because Valverde REALLY wants to win that (for some reason) he’s already decided to make a lot of changes. His squad selection already has some changes, with Gerard Piqué, Sergio Busquets and Andrés Iniesta all left out due to what the club calls injury but is really just rest. The three should be available for Saturday, but not for this one. Ivan Rakitic also misses out, but he’s really injured.

Predicted starting XI:

Ter Stegen; Semedo, Mina, Umtiti, Digne; Vidal, Paulinho, Gomes, Coutinho; Dembélé, Alcácer


The match kicks off at 9pm CET (Barcelona), 8pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3pm EST, 12pm PST (USA), 12.30am IST (India, next day), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!