clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sevilla vs Barcelona, Copa del Rey Final: Team News, Match Preview

New, comments

The Catalan giants look to win their first trophy of the season and somehow make their fans happy

Sevilla v FC Barcelona - La Liga Photo by Aitor Alcalde/Getty Images

Sevilla vs Barcelona


Competition/Round: 2017-18 Copa del Rey Final

Barcelona team news: No injuries, no suspensions

Sevilla team news: Sébastien Corchia, Simon Kjaer (doubtful, fitness)

Date/Time: Saturday, April 21, 2018, 9.30pm CET, 8.30pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3.30pm EST, 12.30pm PST (USA), 1am IST (India, next day)

Venue: Wanda Metropolitano, Madrid, Spain

How to watch on TV: ESPNews (USA), TSN2 (Canada), Sky Sports Mix (UK), SuperSport 3 (Nigeria), others

How to stream: WatchESPN (USA), TSN Go (Canada), Sky GO (UK)


It’s Cup Final weekend! The Wanda Metropolitano, home of Atlético Madrid, will be open on Saturday for fans of Barcelona and Sevilla who will be fighting for the Copa del Rey trophy. Winning a title is always really fun, but if you’re a Barça fan, this final is not really that fun. The Blaugrana have won the Copa del Rey the last three seasons, and they’ve also been knocked out of the Champions League at the quarter-final stage for the last three seasons.

The Spanish Cup has become simply a consolation prize for a Barcelona club that has been flirting with European mediocrity, so winning a fourth in a row isn’t really a source of pride and happiness. It’s just confirmation that maybe this is the only Cup we’ll be winning for the next few years. And that’s really sad.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona (4-4-2): Cillessen; Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Coutinho, Rakitic, Busquets, Iniesta; Messi, Suárez

Sevilla (4-2-3-1): Soria; Navas, Mercado, Lenglet, Escudero; Banega, N’Zonzi; Sarabia, Vázquez, Nolito; Muriel


PREDICTION

I personally don’t give a damn about this game, but I hope we win! 2-1 Barça.