Was Sergi Roberto’s four match ban following his red card in Barcelona’s 2-2 draw with Real Madrid was an exercise in double standards? Onda Cero’s Alfredo Martínez certainly thinks so, because earlier, the Competition Committee gave Damián Suárez only a one-match ban despite the fact that the referee used almost the exact same language when describing both Roberto’s foul and Suárez’s foul.
The referee, Alejandro Hernández Hernández, described the incident in the Clásico thus:
“In the 44th minute, the player (20) Sergi Roberto Carnicer, was sent off for the following reason: Hitting an opponent with his arm, with the use of excessive force, the ball not being at a distance from being played.”
But just a few weeks ago, he described an incident in the Getafe-Girona game as such:
“In the 44th minute the player (22) Damián Nicolás Suárez Suárez, was sent off for the following reason: Hitting an opponent with the arm in the head with excessive force, the ball not being at a distance from being played.”
However, the Competition Committee described Roberto’s foul like this:
“Assaulting another, without causing injury, pondering as a determining factor the malicious element, the circumstance in which the action takes place, when the game is stopped or at a distance from where it develops that makes it impossible to intervene, will be sanctioned with suspension of four to twelve games, with an accessory fine in the amount of 1,400 euros for the club and of 3,005 euros to the player, in application of article 52.3 and 52.4 of the same text.”
And the other foul like this:
“Suspension for a match the Getafe CF player, Damián Nicolás Suárez Suárez, for infringement of article 123.1 (Producing violently with occasion of the game or as a direct result of a haul of the same, provided that the action causes risk, but no harmful or harmful consequences occur, shall be sanctioned with suspension of one to three games or for a period of up to one month), with an accessory fine in amount of 350 euros to the club and of 600 to the soccer player (article 52.3 and 4).”
Barcelona could use this case to form the basis of an appeal.
Martínez called the apparent double standard “very grave and inexplicable.”