clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Villarreal, La Liga: Team News, Match Preview

New, comments

After Sunday’s craziness against Real Madrid, Barça continue their quest for an unbeatens eason

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Sevilla v FC Barcelona - La Liga Photo by Aitor Alcalde/Getty Images

FC Barcelona (Champions) vs Villarreal (6th, 57pts)


Competition/Round: 2017-18 La Liga, Matchday 34 (rescheduled)

Barcelona team news: Sergi Roberto (out, suspension)

Villarreal team news: Bruno Soriano, Ramiro Guerra (out, injury), Antonio Rukavina (out, suspension)

Date/Time: Wednesday, May 9th, 2018, 8pm CET (Barcelona), 7pm GMT/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 2pm EST, 11am PST (USA), 11.30pm IST (India)

Venue: Camp Nou, Barcelona, Catalonia

Referee: José María Sánchez Martínez

How to watch on TV: beIN SPORTS (USA & Canada), Sky Sports Mix (UK), SuperSport 7 (Nigeria), SONY TEN 2 (India), others

How to stream: beIN SPORTS CONNECT (USA & Canada), Sky GO (UK), FuboTV (7-day free trial, click here to sign up)


Have you recovered from El Clásico yet? I know, it was insane, but Barcelona are already back in action and face a veyr tough La Liga match against Villarreal. Thankfully this one is at Camp Nou, because a trip to El Madrigal three days after a battle with Real Madrid would not be very fun.

This game was supposed to happen three weeks ago, but it was rescheduled because Barça were playing the Copa del Rey Final. So here we are, with three games left in the season, and the league champions are trying to make history as the first team in Spanish football history to go the entire campaign without a loss.

Ernesto Valverde will probably rotate his team after the Clásico, but we should still see a strong enough team to beat Villarreal. It won’t be easy, though, because the Yellow Submarine love to make things tough for Barça and they’re a dangerous counter attacking team. Can Barça do the job? We’ll find out.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona (4-4-2): Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Vermaelen, Digne; Dembélé, Paulinho, Busquets, Coutinho; Messi, Suárez

Villarreal (4-2-3-1): Asenjo; Mario, González, Ruiz, Jaume; Rodri, Trigueros; Castillejo, Raba, Cheryshev; Bacca


PREDICTION

This will be tough, but we’re more than good enough to get the job done: 2-1 Barça.