clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

France vs Peru live blog, full-time: France escape with narrow win after bad second half

New, comments

Sammy and Ous are back for more!

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

France v Ivory Coast - International Friendly Photo by Dean Mouhtaropoulos/Getty Images

FULL-TIME, France 1-0 Peru: From a fantastic first half to exactly the same bad team we saw against Australia. France do not look great right now. But they have six points from two matches so who cares?


HALF-TIME, France 1-0 Peru: Didier Deschamps made some really good personnel and tactical changes, and the French are for the first time in the tournament playing like the best team on the pitch. They’ve been dangerous in possession and on the counter, and they should be up by at least two goals. Umtiti has suffered with Paolo Guerrero a bit, but he’s been really good in possession.


GOAL! FRANCE 1-0 Peru (Mbappé 34’): The French have the lead! Paul Pogba gets the ball back high up the pitch and puts Olivier Giroud through, who has his shot blocked but the ball loops the keeper and falls to Kylian Mbappé for an easy tap-in. Les Bleus are playing much better today, and they get their reward.


KICKOFF! France 0-0 Peru: And we’re off! Come on, Sammy!


LINEUPS

FRANCE

Starting XI: Lloris; Pavard, Varane, Umtiti, Lucas; Kanté, Pogba; Mbappé, Griezmann, Matuidi; Giroud

Bench: Mandanda (GK), Areola (GK), Rami, Kimpembe, Sidibé, Mendy, Nzonzi, Tolisso, Lemar, Fekir, Thauvin, Dembélé

PERU

Starting XI: Gallese; Advincula, Ramos, Rodriguez, Trauco; Aquino, Yotún; Carillo, Cueva, Flores; Guerrero

Bench: Caceda (GK), Carvallo (GK), Corzo, Santamaria, Araujo, Furtado, Farfán, Ruidiaz, Tapia, Polo, Cartagena, Loyola


The World Cup continues! The second round of matches is underway and we’re starting to get an idea of which teams are going through and which matchups we could be getting in the Round of 16. Barcelona players have been doing well so far, but it could be much better.

Two Barça players looking to improve on their first matches are Samuel Umtiti and Ousmane Dembélé, who were part of a dreadful France performance, and even though they were able to beat Australia they showed very few positives. Dembélé was quiet in just over 60 minutes of action, and Umtiti committed a horrific penalty that made things a lot tougher for Les Bleus.

And if the Australia game was tough, this could be even tougher: Peru played a fantastic match against Denmark and somehow lost 1-0, but they proved in the first round that France will once again have to work for it. If they want to be one of the favorites to win, the French have to play really well. We’ll see if they can do it.

Join us for a fun live blog as soon as the team news come out!


MATCH INFO

Date/Time: Thursday, June 21, 2018, 5pm CET (Barcelona), 4pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 11am EST, 8am PST (USA), 8.30pm IST (India)

Venue: Ekaterinburg Arena, Ekaterinburg

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM WORLD CUP

How to watch on TV: FOX (USA), ITV 1 (UK), SuperSport 3 (Nigeria), Sony ESPN (India), TSN (Canada), others

How to stream: ITV Hub (UK), FuboTV (Free trial, click here to sign up)


Matchday Thread Rules

We don’t have a lot of rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when joining our matchday threads:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game, no swearing. It’s just unnecessary. Also, don’t discuss illegal streaming links. Those who do will be warned, and those who post links will be banned. Finally, be nice to each other. This is a Barcelona community and we don’t need to offend one another, especially when it’s the World Cup.

Have fun with the game! Forever and ever, no matter the competition, VISCA EL BARÇA!