clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Tottenham, International Champions Cup: Team News, Preview, Predictions

New, comments

BARCELONA FOOTBALL IS BACK!!!

Malaga v Barcelona - La Liga Photo by Aitor Alcalde/Getty Images

FC Barcelona (0pts, 0 matches) vs Tottenham Hotspur (3pts, 1 match)


Competition: International Champions Cup

Barcelona team news: Paco Alcácer (doubtful, fitness), Sergi Samper (out, injury), Marc-André ter Stegen, Gerard Piqué, Samuel Umtiti, Yerry Mina, Thomas Vermaelen, Jordi Alba, Sergio Busquets, Ivan Rakitić, Philippe Coutinho, Ousmane Dembélé, Lionel Messi, Luis Suárez (Vacation - World Cup)

Tottenham team news: Victor Wanyama, Tashan Oakley Boothe, Juan Foyth, Erik Lamela (doubtful, injury), Hugo Lloris, Toby Alderweireld, Jan Vertonghen, Kieran Trippier, Danny Rose, Eric Dier, Mousa Dembélé, Dele Alli, Harry Kane (Vacation - World Cup)

Date/Time: Saturday, July 28, 2018, 11.05pm EST, 8.05pm PST (USA), 5.05am CET (Barcelona, Sunday), 4.05am BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria, Sunday), 8.35am IST (India, Sunday)

Venue: Rose Bowl, Pasadena, United States

How to watch on TV: ESPN (USA), Premier Sports (UK), others

How to stream: WatchESPN (USA), DAZN (Canada), others


BARCELONA FOOTBALL IS BACK! The World Cup was nice and all, but nothing beats seeing our favorite club playing, even if it’s just preseason. The Blaugrana start their preparations for the new campaign with the first of three International Champions Cup matches in the United States, at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California, against Tottenham Hotspur.

Ernesto Valverde is missing 12 players who went to the World Cup, plus Paulinho who was sold and the injured Sergi Samper and Paco Alcácer. There are plenty of very talented youngsters from Barça B who have realistic opportunities to join the first team this season, and this tour will be crucial for them.

A few players to keep an eye on in this match: new signings Clément Lenglet, Arthur and Malcom who are all expected to make their debuts, Barça B left-back Marc Cucurella who is expected to replace Lucas Digne if the Frenchman is indeed sold to Everton, and Munir El-Haddadi who will most likely stay with the squad this season and is looking to score his way into meaningful minutes once the meaningful games begin.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona (4-4-2): Cillessen; Semedo, Marlon, Lenglet, Digne; Vidal, Roberto, Gomes, Denis; Rafinha, Munir

Tottenham (4-2-3-1): Gazzaniga; Aurier, Sánchez, Carter-Vickers, Davies; Sissoko, Amos; Lucas, Eriksen, Son; Llorente


PREDICTION

This is the first preseason friendly and the result means ABSOLUTELY NOTHING (PLEASE REMEMBER THAT), so I just want a lot of goals and a lot of minutes for the young boys: I’m going for a 3-3 draw, Barça win on penalties.