clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Roma, International Champions Cup: Team News, Preview, Predictions

New, comments

It’s the Malcom Bowl in Texas!

Soccer: International Champions Cup-FC Barcelona at Tottenham Hotspur Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

FC Barcelona (2pts, 1 match) vs AS Roma (0pts, 1 match)


Competition: International Champions Cup

Barcelona team news: Sergi Samper, Carles Aleñá, Denis Suarez, André Gomes (out, injury), Gerard Piqué, Samuel Umtiti, Yerry Mina, Thomas Vermaelen, Jordi Alba, Sergio Busquets, Ivan Rakitić, Philippe Coutinho, Ousmane Dembélé, Lionel Messi, Luis Suárez (not on tour squad)

Roma team news: Malcom (out, signed by Barcelona lol)

Date/Time: Tuesday, July 31, 2018, 10.05pm EST, 7.05pm PST (USA), 4.05am CET (Barcelona, Wednesday), 3.05am BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria, Wednesday), 7.35pm IST (India, Wednesday)

Venue: AT&T Stadium, Dallas, Texas, United States

How to watch on TV: ESPN (USA), Premier Sport 2 (UK), others

How to stream: WatchESPN (USA), Premier Player (UK), DAZN (Canada), others


The preparations for the new season continue for Barcelona with a big game for Ernesto Valverde and his man as they face AS Roma at the spectacular AT&T Stadium in Dallas, Texas in the second match of Barça’s road in the International Champions Cup.

The Blaugrana beat Tottenham Hotspur on penalties in their preseason debut and looked fantastic in the first half, which is when the first team players were in action. Even some of the Barça B kids looked really good, and the entire squad got a chance to play and show their worth.

Losing André Gomes and Denis Suarez to injury was a big blow, but Marc-André ter Stegen has joined the squad in Dallas and will most likely play tonight to start getting in shape for the new campaign. Arthur will look to repeat his amazing debut, Munir El-Haddadi is going for another goal, and Malcom is facing the team he was supposed to join before moving to the Camp Nou. This should be fun.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona (4-3-3): Cillessen; Semedo, Marlon, Lenglet, Miranda; Arthur, Roberto, Rafinha; Malcom, Alcácer, Munir

Roma (4-3-3): Mirante; Florenzi, Fazio, Manolas, Kolarov; Pellegrini, Strootman, Pastore; Ünder, Schick, Perotti


PREDICTION

Again, the result is not important. At all. And because Roma have their entire first team squad in this tour, the Italians will probably play a lot better once the Barça B boys come into the game: 3-2 win for Roma.