clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Sevilla, Supercopa de Espana: Team News, Match Preview

New, comments

The first trophy of the season is on the line for the Catalan Kings of Spain

Soccer: International Champions Cup-AC Milan at FC Barcelona Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

FC Barcelona (La Liga, Copa del Rey Champions) vs Sevilla (Copa del Rey Runners-Up)


Competition: 2018 Supercopa de España

Barcelona team news: Denis Suarez, Carles Aleñá (out, injury), Sergi Roberto (out, suspension)

Sevilla team news: None

Date/Time: Sunday, August 12, 2018, 9pm local time, 10pm CET (Barcelona), 9pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3pm EST, 12pm PST (USA), 1.30am IST (India, Monday)

Venue: Stade Ibn-Batouta, Tangier, Morocco

How to watch on TV: ESPNews (USA), Sky Sports Football (UK), SuperSport 7 (Nigeria), others

How to stream: WatchESPN (USA), Sky GO (UK), others


Official football is back! After a few weeks of meaningless friendlies and a lot of training, our beloved Barcelona return to real action with a trophy on the line in their first game of the season: the Blaugrana travel to the beautiful country of Morocco to take on Sevilla in the Spanish Supercup, which for the first time will be a one-game final.

Sevilla are really not happy about this one, because they feel as though the Spanish Federation is doing favors to Barça by having the game at a neutral site, and they’re also really angry that Barça have more than three non-EU players in their squad, and are promising to take legal action on the matter.

Despite all of their attempts to somehow not play this game, Sevilla have made a lot of changes to their squad and coaching staff and will remain a dangerous opponent for Barça. Former Blaugrana Aleix Vidal is back with the Rojiblancos and could feature against his former club. Barça have all of their best players available and we should see a really good match. If Sevilla don’t cancel it with a lawyer, of course.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona (4-3-3): Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Arthur, Busquets, Rafinha; Malcom, Messi, Coutinho

Sevilla (3-4-3): Vaclik; Mercado, Kjaer, Gnagnon; Navas, Mesa, Banega, Escudero; Sarabia, Ben Yedder, Nolito


PREDICTION

It’s really hard to know if the World Cup stars will be in good shape, but I trust them to crush Sevilla like they did in the Copa del Rey Final: 4-1 to the Catalan Kings of Spain.