clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Sevilla live blog, full-time: Ter Stegen saves late penalty as Barça win Supercopa de Espana

New, comments

The first trophy of the season is up for grabs!

Barcelona v Real Sociedad - La Liga Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

FULL-TIME, Barcelona 2-1 Sevilla: WE ARE CHAMPIONS! The first competitive game of the season brings us the first trophy of the season, but it wasn’t without drama. Sevilla had a late penalty, but Ter Stegen made a great save to stop Ben Yedder and we survived a late blitz to win the Supercup!


GOLAZO! Barcelona 2-1 Sevilla (Dembélé 78’): BARÇA TAKE THE LEAD! OUSMANE DEMBÉLÉ TAKES THE BALL ON THE RIGHT SIDE AND FIRES A ROCKET INTO THE TOP CORNER! WHAT A FREAKING GOAL TO SHUT UP ALL HIS CRITICS!


SECOND HALF KICKOFF! Barcelona 1-1 Sevilla: Come on, boys! Let’s keep up the pace from the first half and look for the winner!


HALFTIME, Barcelona 1-1 Sevilla: Barça dominated the entire first half, but Sevilla scored against the run of play and parked the bus quite early in the game, which made things difficult for the Catalans. But Barça were very patient and continued to create chances until the equalizer came just before halftime. We are clearly the better team here, and we just need to continue playing the way we did in the first half to win the game.


GOAL! Barcelona 1-1 Sevilla (Piqué 42’): BARÇA EQUALIZE! Lionel Messi takes a free kick that hits the post, and Gerard Piqué is the quickest to react and taps home the goal Barça more than deserve.


GOAL, Barcelona 0-1 Sevilla (Sarabia 9’): Sevilla open the scoring! A great counter attack by them is finished by Pablo Sarabia, who has his goal disallowed for offside at first, but VAR stepped in and correctly reversed the decision. Sarabia was clearly onside.


KICKOFF! Barcelona 0-0 Sevilla: Don’t give me a heart attack, boys. Let’s just win this trophy.


LINEUPS

BARCELONA

Starting XI: Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Arthur, Busquets; Rafinha, Messi, Dembélé; Suárez (4-2-3-1)

Bench: Cillessen, Umtiti, Miranda, Rakitic, Vidal, Coutinho, Munir

SEVILLA

Starting XI: Vaclík; Gómez, Kjaer, Mercado; Navas, Mesa, Banega, Escudero; Sarabia, Muriel, Vázquez (3-4-3)

Bench: Soriano, Carriço, Amadou, Aleix Vidal, Nolito, André Silva, Ben Yedder


Welcome to the first competitive match of the season for Barcelona! Sevilla and their lawyers are trying everything they can to stop this game from happening, but it’s happening! The Spanish Supercup is up for grabs in a one-off match in Morocco, and Barça have the chance to win a trophy tonight! It’ll be fun! Join us for a special title match LIVE BLOG!

(Note: the comments will be open as soon as the team news come out, because our commenter people love commenting and sometimes there are too many comments in the comments section)


MATCH INFO

Competition: 2018 Supercopa de España

Date/Time: Sunday, August 12, 2018, 9pm local time, 10pm CET (Barcelona), 9pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3pm EST, 12pm PST (USA), 1.30am IST (India, Monday)

Venue: Stade Ibn-Batouta, Tangier, Morocco

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM SUPERCOPA DE ESPANA

How to watch on TV: ESPNews (USA), Sky Sports Football (UK), SuperSport 7 (Nigeria), others

How to stream: WatchESPN (USA), Sky GO (UK), others


Matchday Thread Rules

We don’t have a lot of rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when joining our matchday threads:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game, no swearing. It’s just unnecessary. Also, don’t discuss illegal streaming links. Those who do it will be warned, and those who post links will be instantly banned. Finally, be nice to each other. This is a Barcelona community and we don’t need to offend one another.

Have fun with the game! Forever and ever, no matter the competition, VISCA EL BARÇA!